California Bureau of Medical Cannabis Regulation Released first draft of Marijuana Regulations
Last week, the California Bureau of Medical Cannabis Regulation released its first draft of the medical cannabis regulations that may eventually be enforced. The draft is 54-pages and has entered a 45-day comment period for suggestions on what should be changed to the regulations. The regulations are actually part of the Medical Cannabis Safety and Regulations Act that was approved in 2015. According to the Fresno Bee,
These rules could be altered in favor of comprehensive regulations that combine the requirements of the Cannabis Safety Act and Proposition 64, which legalized marijuana in November. The California State Assembly is discussing a ‘trailer’ bill that would do exactly that.
There are several interesting parts of the draft that will raise some eyebrows. For instance, dispensaries can only sell a maximum of eight ounces of medical marijuana, which is a large amount, to a single person in a single day and this essentially restricts a sale from being over $1,000. However, a person can buy more than eight ounces from a dispensary if they have a doctor’s note stating that their medical needs require more than the eight ounce limit. There is also no system for determining if a person has already purchased marijuana from multiple dispensaries within the same day.
Another interesting part about the draft is that local law enforcement personnel can own a marijuana dispensary, as long as it is outside of the county that they are working in.
We will have to wait and see what the comments will be and if any of the regulations will be changed.
Read the full article here